BIRMINGHAM, AL (August 6, 2012) - Tourism representatives from 11 of the 14 Southeastern Conference (SEC) cities met on July 30, 2012 and formed a conference wide tourism effort aimed at informing and enhancing visitors' experiences at football weekends and other collegiate sports events. The group agreed to launch the effort during the upcoming football season under the umbrella name Towns of the SEC.

First year initiatives for fans include expanded game day information on the partner's websites and social media sites.

The group expects that all 14 cities with colleges and universities in the SEC will participate in the new marketing initiative. Organizations that will form Towns of the SEC are: Athens Classic Center Authority/Athens Convention and Visitors Bureau, Auburn and Opelika Tourism Bureau, Bryan College Station Convention and Visitors Bureau, City of Columbia (MO)- Convention and Visitors Bureau, Columbia (SC) Regional Sports Council, Fayetteville Visitors Bureau, Gainesville Sports Commission, Knoxville Convention and Visitors Bureau, Lexington Convention and Visitors Bureau, Nashville Convention and Visitors Bureau, Starkville Convention & Visitors Bureau, Tuscaloosa Tourism and Sports Commission, Visit Baton Rouge, VisitGainesville and VisitOxford.