Fourth Annual Southeastern Rugby Conference Will Be Played Nov. 15-16 in Columbia




Columbia, S.C. - (November 10, 2014) The Columbia Regional Sports Council (CRSC) is proud to assist the Southeastern Collegiate Rugby Conference (SCRC) with the 2014 Southeastern Rugby 15's Championship on Nov. 15-16.



The fourth annual SCRC Championship Weekend will be played at the University of South Carolina's Strom Rugby Field. The South Carolina team hopes to defend the SCRC title after defeating Louisiana State in last year's championship.

The winner and runner-up will go to the inaugural American Collegiate Rugby Championship Bowl Series on Nov. 22 in Charlotte, N.C. The ACRC Bowl Series will feature eight championship bowl games over three days. The SCRC victor will face off against the winner of the Atlantic Coast Rugby League.

The following match times have been established:
Saturday, Nov. 15

  • 1 p.m. West #1 vs. East #2
  • 3 p.m. East #1 vs. West #2


Sunday, Nov. 16

  • 1 p.m. Championship


"We are proud of the accomplishments of our member teams and we thank our hosts for their gracious hospitality," comments SCRC Commissioner Andy Allen. "We look forward to another successful championship event and we hope to see all of our SCRC supporters from the Columbia and surrounding communities come out and cheer the teams to victory."

The Columbia Marriott will provide the awards breakfast and accommodations. The projected attendance for the event is 300-500 people.

"Columbia is quite enthusiastic when it comes to sports so we always welcome the opportunity to celebrate the achievements of teams from our area," said Scott Powers, executive director of the CRSC. "We are hoping that a big local crowd will come out to cheer our team onto their second championship win."

For more information, contact Scott Powers, executive director of the Columbia Regional Sports Council or visit the SCRC online at

About Columbia Regional Sports Council
The mission of the Columbia Regional Sports Council is to strengthen the area's economy by marketing and selling Columbia, S.C. as a premier destination for sporting events, partnering with local sports organizations to grow and develop existing events, and by recruiting new events that provide an economic benefit to the region by generating room nights, food and beverage sales, and associated tax revenues. For more information, visit

About South Carolina Rugby Conference
The SCRC is a USA Rugby Men's Collegiate Division I rugby conference featuring teams from the universities in the Southeastern Conference. The league members include teams from the University of Alabama, Auburn University, University of Florida, University of Georgia, University of Kentucky, Louisiana State University, University of Mississippi, Mississippi State University, University of South Carolina, University of Tennessee, and Vanderbilt University.